能源與環境設計領導者" LEED Gold 金獎的建築物之一

一個雨水滯留池/城市居住帶與職場觀景台相結合 BC 省政府與服務僱員工會(BCGEU)是省內最大的公立工會部門,以前任主席 George Heyman 命名,該建築師是大溫哥華菲沙河谷區域第一個獲得"能源與環境設計領導者" LEED Gold [i] 金獎的建築物之一。

該建築物為職工的健康與福祉而設計,包括一個戶外職工和家人的用餐露台。該建築物的環境特徵是為了公共信息平台而準備的。這樣的學習資源尤其受學校、企業和遊客的歡迎,令到他們了解更多"綠色建築"的理念。

滯留池用於收集建築和周邊區域的雨水,從而提供一個城市居住生態網絡。特色噴泉用於循環水資源,從而幫助減少潛在的藻類和蚊蟲問題。


[i]注:LEED 是英文(Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design). 的首字母縮寫,意思為"能源與環境設計的引領者"

Features:

A LEED Gold Office Building

BC Government and Service Employees' Union (BCGEU) is the province's largest public sector union. The building is named for past BCGEU President George Heyman; it is the first building in Metro Vancouver's Fraser Valley to receive LEED Gold (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design)

The building is designed with workers' health and well-being in mind. The open glazed frontage pays homage to the welcoming gesture of "O Siem"– open arms by the Coast Salish peoples. The tall lodge poles, open glazing and stone materials symbolize the the province's historic main industries and natural beauty.

Knowledge of the province, of indigenous respect, and environmental design is shared using information panels designed into the welcoming hall. This learning resource is popular with schools and business visitors to this LEED building. In addition to the office space, the building provides meeting spaces and family areas so that union members and guests may enjoy a meal on the BBQ terrace and kitchen dining space that oversees the naturally planted stormwater detention pond.

This detention pond was created to collect building and neighbouring area storm water run-off. A feature water fountain was installed to circulate the water and to help mitigate potential algal and mosquito pest issues.

Features: